​​​​​Concealed Handgun License-Oregon- (CHL-OR) This course meets and exceeds the required elements to obtain a certificate of completion in order to obtain a Concealed Handgun License in the State of Oregon. This course is 5 hours in a classroom environment with an optional (recommended) live fire addition  of 2.5 hours as described below. 





Add Live Fire addition for $50


Oregon does not recognize CHL's from any other state. This course is taught in a classroom and will focus on several items including but not limited to:

  • Handgun safety, storage and security
  • Handgun anatomy and handling skills
  • Ammunition overview
  • Oregon law related to carrying a concealed handgun and the use of deadly physical force
  • Understanding the criteria that must be met to justify the use of deadly physical force
  • Understanding the proper use of the Force Options
  • Strategies and tactics for avoiding and/or dealing with threats without the use of deadly physical force
  • Developing the proper defensive mindset
  • Much, much more


It is important that each student understands that this course alone in no way fully prepares them for all of the possibilities they may encounter that may require the justified use of deadly physical force. The CHL classes are not designed to replace or supersede real, practical defensive handgun training; specifically, live fire training. At 540 Tactical we are not simply certificate signers. There are many places to obtain a basic certificate in order to fulfill the requirement to obtain a CHL. However, there are far fewer places that actually prepare their students in a meaningful way to prevail in a life threatening encounter. While not mandatory, we feel strongly that all students taking this course should also register for for the
Live Fire addition.


By design, it is typically offered at the end of each CHL class. Attending the Live Fire course is a good start to developing the safe, practical and proven defensive handgun skills and mind-set necessary to prevail in a life threatening encounter. In fact, we feel so strongly about this that we will waive the course fee for the Live Fire course if you do not see its value after completing the course. 

Upon successful completion of this course you will be issued a certificate of completion and can then apply for your CHL at the county sheriff's office. Some counties utilize online systems and each county uses its own form. Once you submit the completed application form, two forms of identification (one must have a photo), your firearms training certificate and the permit fee you will either receive your permit or a denial letter within 45 days. Your CHL must be renewed every 4 years but you will not need to retake this course.

In addition to completing this course, in order to be eligible to obtain a CHL in Oregon you must meet the following additional requirements:

  • Be a U.S. citizen, or a legal alien who can document continuous residency in the United States for at least six months and has declared, in writing, to the INS your intent to acquire citizenship (Form N300).
  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.
  • Have no outstanding warrants for your arrest.
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Services.
  • Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
  • Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
  • Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor, or found guilty of a misdemeanor within four years prior to application, except under ORS 161.295.
  • Not be subject to a citation issued under ORS 163.735 or an order issued under ORS 30.866, 107.700 to 107.723 or 163.738 (e.g. Stalking or Restraining Orders).